Last Updated: Jun 9, 2013
How do I view Medical Images on my Computer?
Free software for dowloading:
Paid Resources through HSLIB
Includes full medical textbooks, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine and the Lange Textbooks.
Contains nearly one million images from books and nearly three million images from journals
Includes peer-reviewed clinical review articles covering virtually every known disease and condition; patient education articles; images collection.
- How do I view Flash tutorials on my Computer?
Install Adobe Flash Player
Learning resource that provides an animated and interactive examination of human anatomy and physiology.
- Winking Skull
Free, interactive anatomy study aid produced by Thieme. Includes timed tests and large, printable illustrations. Registration is required to access some of the site’s features.
Medical Audio Resources on the Web
- Atlas of the Body
From the American Medical Association. Provides illustrations and text about the major systems of the body.
- Atlas of Ophthalmology
Endorsed by the International Council of Ophthalmology. Users have permission to freely use the images, of which there are approximately 3,000.
- The Big Picture Book of Viruses
From Tulane University, this site contains links to images stored on other Web Sites.
Hosted by Johns Hopkins University. More than 8,300 dermatological photographs and histological slides have been made available for teaching purposes.
- The Digital Anatomist Project
These interactive, anatomy atlases were produced by the University of Washington.
- Duke University Medical Center Library Online Subject Guides
Provides links to medical image Web Sites. Free usage of images is allowed on some sites for educational purposes, while others require that you ask permission or pay user registration or fees.
- Google Images
Google has billions of indexed images. It is up to the searcher to determine whether the images are copyrighted and to seek permission from the copyright holder.
- Hardin-MD AIDS, HIV/AIDS Virus
From the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa.
- HEAL (Health Education Assets Library)
HEAL is a national digital library funded by the National Science Foundation. Users must register to view and download records.
- Historical Anatomies on the Web from the National Library of Medicine
A digital project from NLM. All images are in the public domain however, NLM does want users to acknowledge credit to the Library when using these materials.
- HON Media from Health on the NET Foundation
Acts as a search engine for locating medical images, it is not a repository of digital images.
- Karolinska Institutet
This site contains links to other pages and sites on the Internet offering biomedically related multimedia material, mostly images (photos, illustrations, etc.). Occasionally, the material may be downloaded and used free of charge. Normally, however, the material is strictly copyrighted, and may be used only after first having obtained explicit permission by the rightful owner.
- National Eye Institute
The files are not copyrighted but users are asked to credit the NEI or NIH.
- NIH Image Bank
Image collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health
- PEIR (Pathology Education Instructional Resource) Digital Library
Made available by the University of Alabama, Birmingham (UAB) Department of Pathology for use in medical education. Although access is unrestricted, images can only be used for nonprofit educational activities.
- Public Health Image Library from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Sponsored by the National Center for Health Marketing, the National Center for Infectious Diseases, and the Information Resources Management Office.
- University of Nebraska Medical Center Medical Images on the Web
A list of links to many medical image sites.
- Weill Cornell Medical Library Finding Images on the Web or in Print
- Wellcome Images
Includes images on the history of medicine, modern biomedical science and clinical medicine. All content has been made available under a Creative Commons License, which allows users to copy, distribute and display the image, provided the source is fully attributed and it is used for non-commercial purposes.
- Yale School of Medicine: Diagnostic Radiology
Links to thematic materials, including radiology sites, and teaching file and image sites.
- The Visible Human Project
The Visible Human Project is a complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representation of the normal male and female human bodies.
- The Whole Brain Atlas
- Springer Images
Springer Images is a growing collection of scientific images that spans the scientific, technical and medical fields, including high-quality clinical images from images.MD. The collection currently contains over 2.8 million images, including nearly 300,000 free images.
VisualDx is a web-based clinical decision support system proven to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
- JOVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal. Our mission is to increase the productivity of scientific research. Available from Pubmed Central.
- JAMA Multimedia
Article and author videos with weekly JAMA Reports
- NEJM Multimedia
Videos and images in Clinical Medicine