Monographs, Journals, Reports, Videos, Dictionaries, etc.
- University of Hawaii Libraries Online CatalogFor search strategy: combine topic with hawaiian?
- Update on Kanaka MaoliKanaka Maoli activism in the early 1980s resulted in the 1988 U.S. Congress Native Hawaiian Health Initiative which began to address these health needs. Special interest, therefore, is currently directed at trends as Kanaka Maoli health statistics for the 1990s are revealed .
(Indigenous Hawaiian) Health by Kekuni Blaisdell, MD - Native Hawaiian Health DatabaseFrom the Native Hawaiian Center of Excellence.
Not being maintained since 2005 - Hawaiian Dictionaries
Comments (0)
Journal Articles
- PubMed MEDLINEDatabase from the National Library of Medicine for health/medical research articles for the most comprehensive search.
Search strategy--to find all articles in the database related to Hawaii:
include hawaii* (Note asterisk is truncation symbol for PubMed)
combine those results with subject of interest
example hawaii* AND hypertension
For Hawaiians only
search "hawaiian* OR hawaii/ethnology
combine results with subject of interest - HuliliMultidisciplinary research on Hawaiian well-being from Kamehameha Schools. Table of contents available online.
Other Databases
NOTE: combine hawaiian with the appropriate truncation symbol and subject of interest
- ABI-Inform GlobalThis ProQuest database indexes about 1,520 journals and includes article full-text for more than 780, many with graphics (full-text available to UH Manoa campus users only). Includes information on 60,000+ companies.
Business aspects of health, search strategy: hawaiian* AND (health OR medicine OR medical) - Academic Search PremierProvides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Search strategy: hawaiian* AND (health OR medic*) - Hawaii Pacific Journal IndexAn index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific.
Search strategy: hawaiian? and subject of interest - ISI Web of ScienceA multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.
Search strategy: hawaiian* AND (health OR medic*) - PsycINFOPsycINFO provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles, chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
Search strategy: search simultaneously by changing subject area to "social sciences"; search hawaiian*[keywords] and (health or medic*) [keywords] - ScienceDirectScience Direct from Elsevier is an internet resource for scientific, technical and medical information. Using Science Direct you can access over 1,800 peer reviewed academic journals, search over 30 million abstracts from scientific articles and link out to articles from over 80 other publishers.
Search strategy: hawaiian* and (health or medic*)
Departments, Agencies, etc.
- JABSOM Dept of Native Hawaiian HealthMission is to be an academic center of excellence committed to optimal health and wellness for all Native Hawaiian people through research, education, and quality health practices.
- Papa Ola LokahiClearinghouse for data and timely information associated with the health status of Native Hawaiians.
- Imi HaleImi Hale Native Hawaiian Cancer Network is a program of Papa Ola LÅkahi.
- Queen's Medical Center: Native Hawaiian Health Program

Loading...
