Databases
Levels of Evidence
Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels. UH users may click on the ENTER button to access full text without logging in with username and password.
- DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)DARE contains 15,000 abstracts of systematic reviews including over 6,000 quality assessed reviews and details of all Cochrane reviews and protocols. The database focuses on the effects of interventions used in health and social care. From UK's National Institute for Health Research
Databases- Critically Appraised Topics
The following databases are searchable by subject and includes critically appraised topics.
- National Guideline ClearinghouseNGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Gathered by the UHDHHS Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
- PubMed Health up-to-date information on diseases, conditions, drugs, treatment options, and healthy living, with a special focus on comparative effectiveness research from institutions around the world. Click on "comparative effectiveness" links for EBM type reviews.
Databases - Critically Appraised Individual Articles
- Evidence Based MedicineJournal from BMJ collection of journals. Critiques individual published studies from other journals.
- Evidence Based Mental HealthJournal from BMJ collection of journals. Critiques individual published studies from other journals.
- ACP Journal ClubCritiques of the published research articles and systematic reviews. Publication of the American College of Physicians.
Databases - Research Literature
Search PubMed MEDLINE for Randomized Controlled Trials (RCTs), Cohort Studies and Case-Controlled Studies
Click on link to PubMed from the Library and click on "Clinical Queries" under "PubMed Tools" (middle column) OR go to "Advanced Search" and under "More Resources" at the end of the page, click on "Clinical Queries."
May search by categories such as Therapy, Diagnosis, and Prognosis and limit to broad or narrow. Narrow produces the best evidence.
Please ask librarians for assistance: 692-0810 or hslinfo@hawaii.edu
- PubMed MEDLINE
- TRIP DatabaseThe TRIP Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence. For access to the full text, log in to the database via this link. For the most part the publisher's icons will link to the full-text of our subscribed resources. Another way to get to the full text of the articles is that when you link to a PubMed citation login to your MY NCBI account and the UH Manoa icons will appear again.
- SUMSearchSUMSearch simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines from multiple sources. Results from PubMed, Dare, and NGC are merged and sorted. As SUMSearch executes live searches of external websites in response to your query, SUMSearch is always up-to-date. Click on the "PMID" link to citations for access to full-text HSL library sub..may require logging into your MyNCBI account to see holdings icons
- Mobile PubMed Related Databases from NLMThis is a link to a trio of databases from the National Library of Medicine. They all contain besides the usual PubMed Abstracts a "TBL" (The Bottom Line) summary. http://www.lhncbc.nlm.nih.gov/lhc/docs/published/2009/pub2009053.pdf Note that the first database gives you a PICO interface.
Background Information/Expert Opinion
Includes databases such as FirstConsult and eMedicine.
- FirstConsultIncludes 700 topic monographs with updated diagnositic, treatment recommendations, questions to ask, and references.
- MedscapeFormerly known as eMedicine. Free but must register.
- CRD DatabasesFrom the UK's National Institute for Health Research Centre for Reviews and Dissemination. Includes DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects), NHS EED (Economic Evaluation Database), HTA (Health Technology Assessment) Database.
Rational clinical Examination Series from JAMA
Articles from this series cannot be easily searched in PubMed as the words "Rational Clinical Examination" are not indexed. It is best to use Google Scholar and do the following search:
"rational clinical examination" jama
Quotes are used to force Google Scholar to search the words as a phrase.
Also be sure to search Google Scholar via the Library's link for access to the full text articles. It is not perfect but most of the series can be identified that way.
Virginia "Ginny" Tanji
Contact Info Health Sciences Library John A. Burns School of Medicine University of Hawaii at Manoa 651 Ilalo Street Honolulu HI, 96813-5534 PH: 808-692-0823 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Tutorials & Guides
The following resources provide health information on a variety of health topics in many languages.
- Basic Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice ResourcesUniversity of Washington--arranged by types of evidence.
- Introduction to Evidence-Based MedicineDuke University Medical Center Library and Health Sciences Library, Univ of NC, Chapel Hill.
- Evidence-Based Practice Tools SummaryUniversity of Washington
- How to Read a PaperPapers from BMJ on reading different kinds of journal articles.
- JAMA's Users' Guides to the Medical Literature seriesPapers originally published in JAMA. You will be prompted to login to PubMed MEDLINE first. Unfortunately UHM icons don't appear but because you have logged in you should be able to click on the JAMA icon and retrieve the full-text article from 1998 to present. Earlier articles are available in the Library Stacks.


Loading...
