MedlinePlus
- MedlinePlusThe National Library of Medicine's website for consumer health information. The site offers authoritative, up-to-date health information, without advertisements.
Comments (0)
PubMed Health
- PubMed HealthThe newest database from the National Library of Medicine which specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.
Cancer
- American Cancer SocietyInformation on the nationwide, community based voluntary health organization as well as current news, treatments, and trends.
- Cancer.govThe official website for The National Cancer Institute (NCI), a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
- Cancer.NetOncologist-approved information to help patients and families make informed health-care decisions.
- Cancer Genome AtlasNIH portal to information regarding the genetic underpinning of cancer.
- National Marrow Donation ProgramInformation for potential donors, transplant patients, and medical professionals.
- OncolinkThe latest news on cancer treatment, cancer research, oncology advances, and cancer clinical trials.
- Susan G. Komen for the CureThe latest news on cancer treatment, cancer research, oncology advances, and cancer clinical trials.
Cardiovascular Health (Heart)
- American Heart AssociationProvides information on research and prevention of heart disease and stroke as well as links to local AHA-sponsored programs and activities.
- CDC Centers for Disease ControlHealth Topic: Heart Disease. Focus is on prevention and control.
- CDC Division for Heart Disease and Stroke PreventionPublic health approach to heart disease, stroke and prevention.
- National Heart Lung and Blood InstituteInformation on heart and vascular disease including health assessment tools, tutorials, and recipes for healthy eating.
Dermatology (Skin)
- American Academy of DermatologyInformation regarding medical, surgical and cosmetic treatment of the skin, hair and nails.
- National Institute on Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin DiseasesHealth topics, publications, studies with patients, patient research registries and outreach programs.
- Skin Cancer FoundationNational and international organization that is concerned exclusively with the world's most common malignancy -- cancer of the skin.
Complementary & Alternative Medicine
The following resources provide health information on a variety of health topics in many languages.
- Consumer LabIndependent test results and information to help consumers and health care professionals evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products.
- Consumer Health Information in Many LanguagesFrom the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.
- Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseThe Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements.
- HealthWorld OnlineInformation on alternative healing modalities, including advertising for commercial products and services.
- HerbMedAccess to the Alternative Medicine Foundation's herbal database which provides scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
- Herb Research Foundation (HRF)Comprehensive scientific information on medicinal plants. Contains the latest news and research reviews on herbs and supplements.
- National Center for Complementary & Alternative MedicineThe federal government’s lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
- National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)Aims to promote knowledge of supplements, stimulate research and disseminate research results. Includes the searchable International Bibliography of Information on Dietary Supplements.
- University of Maryland Medical Center Complementary & Alternative Medicine IndexProvides information about treatment options for various conditions. The use and side effects of herbs and supplements are also presented, as well as possible interactions with conventional medications.
Diabetes
- MedlinePlus: DiabetesProvides authoritative information collected by the National Library of Medicine on diabetes.
- Diabetes-NIHFrom National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health.
- Diabetes-Mayo ClinicFrom the Mayo Clinic.
- MLA Recommended Diabetes WebsitesGreat resource for links to Diabetes websites from the Medical Library Association.
Directories
- AMA Doctor FinderProvides basic professional information on virtually every licensed physician in the United States.
- Businesses and Licensee Complaints History SearchFrom the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. Search this database to find selected complaints filed against physicians. Agree to terms of document before proceeding to the Complaint History Search.
- Health Hotlines from the National Library of MedicineOnline database of toll-free numbers for health-related organizations. Available as an app for the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad.
- MedlinePlus: DirectoriesLinks to directories to help you find health professionals, services and facilities.
- VitalsProvides a database of physicians, including such information as board certication, publications, disciplinary actions, and user-supplied ratings.
Drugs
- DailyMedDailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs.
- FDAInformation about drugs from the Food and Drug Administration.
- MedlinePlus: Drugs & SupplementsInformation on drugs, supplements and herbs.
- NLM Drug Information PortalProvides a gateway to drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.
- PDRHealthInformation about prescription and over-the-counter drugs, and herbal and dietary supplements.
- WebMD Drugs & Medications A-ZFind information on prescription and over-the-counter medications by searching drug name or medical condition.
Eating Disorders
- National Eating Disorders Associations (NEDA)Information and links about treatment referrals and support groups.
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)Eating Disorders: Facts About Eating Disorders and the Search for Solutions.
General Health Topics
- ClinicalTrials.govProvides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers.
- Consumer Health CompleteRemote access limited to UH Manoa and JABSOM affiliates.
A comprehensive resource covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide. - Consumer Health GuideEncylopedic guide to searching and finding health information on the web.
- familydoctor.orgIs operated by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), a national medical organization representing more than 93,700 family physicians, family practice residents and medical students. All of the information on this site has been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the AAFP.
- Genetics Home Reference GuideFrom the National Library of Medicine, consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.
- HealthfinderIs a gateway consumer health information website whose goal is "to improve consumer access to selected health information from government agencies, their many partner organizations, and other reliable sources that serve the public interest."
- Household Products DatabaseHealth and safety information on household products.
- Kids’ HealthChildren's health information from the Nemours Foundation.
- Lab Tests OnlineLab Tests Online has been designed to help patients or caregivers to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases.
- MayoClinic.comInformation and tools that reflect the expertise of Mayo’s 3,300 physicians and scientists.
- National Institutes of HealthFrom the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- NOAH New York Online Access to HealthConsumer health information.
- Patient Info from UpToDateArticles written for patients by physicians.
- The 24 Languages ProjectElectronic access to over 200 health education brochures in 24 different languages.
Hawaii Resources
- Aloha United Way 211Comprehensive, statewide community information.
- Hawai‘i State Department of HealthInformation on health and environment for all people in Hawaii.
- HIPHIVEHawai‘i Public Health Information Virtual Emporium.
- Native Hawaiian Health DatabaseFrom the Native Hawaiian Center of Excellence.
Surgery
- American College of SurgeonsPatient education from the American College of Surgeons.
- MedlinePlus: SurgeryProvides authoritative information collected by the National Library of Medicine on surgery.
- YourSurgery.ComInformation for common and specific surgical procedures.
Travel Medicine
- Traveler’s Health/CDCHealth information for travel to specific destinations.
- International Travel and Health/WHOGuidance on the full range of health risks likely to be encountered at specific destinations and associated with different types of travel.
- Medical Information for Americans Traveling AbroadFrom the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs.
Women’s Health
- CDC Health Topic: Women's HealthInformation on women’s health topics.
- Drug and Lactation Database (LactMed)From the National Library of Medicine, a database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
- healthy women.orgFrom the National Women's Health Resource Center.
- Susan G.Komen for the CureThe latest news on cancer treatment, cancer research, oncology advances, and cancer clinical trials.
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationWomen’s health topics.
- Women’s Health MattersFrom the Cardiovascular Health Centre, information on women’s health and lifestyle issues.
Health News
- Health News-New York TimesNews on health topics.
- MedlinePlus News MagazineMonthly magazine from the National Institutes of Health.
- UH Health System NewsletterUniversity of Hawaii System newsletter.
- WebMDMedical and healthcare news.
HIV & AIDS
- AEGISAIDS Education and Global Information Systems
- AIDS infoAIDS information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- HIV InSite Knowledge BaseAn on-line textbook of HIV disease from the University of California San Francisco and San Francisco General Hospital.
- CDC: HIV/AIDSFrom the CDC (Centers for Disease Control).
Men's Health
- CDC HealthTopic: Men’s Health
- Internet Public Library Men’s HealthHealth matters unique to male physiology.
- Medline Plus: Men’s HealthProvides authoritative information collected by the National Library of Medicine on men’s health.
- Men’s HealthFrom the Department of Health and Human Services.
Mental Health
- American Psychological Association Help CenterResource for brochures, tips and articles on the psychological issues that affect your physical and emotional well-being, as well as information about referrals.
- Mental Health AmericaInformation about the signs and symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment for mental health issues from the National Mental Health Association.
- mentalhelp.netInformation on mental health and wellness education and advocacy.
Nutrition/Health and Fitness
- American Council on Exercise (ACE)Provides sports nutrition and fitness information that is specific to age and medical conditions.
- American Heart AssociationInformation on exercise and cardiovascular health benefits to all ages. Table tents and handouts are available.
- Hawai’i FoodsGeneral and reliable food and nutrient information is provided on this website to help you make healthier choices.
- President’s Council on Physical Fitness and SportsProvides information on the importance of exercise and gives ideas as to how to include exercise in your life. Provides fact sheets for nutrition professionals, coaches, parents and fitness experts.
- USDA National Nutrient DatabaseCalculate food calories, carbohydrates, protein and fat, cholesterol, sodium, and vitamins and minerals.
- Weight-Control Information Network (WIN)From the National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). WIN raises awareness and provides information on obesity, weight control, and related nutritional issues.
Senior Health
- AARP American Association of Retired PersonsInformation regarding senior health.
- Aging in the KnowProvides up-to-date information for consumers on health and aging from the American Geriatrics Society Founation for Health in Aging.
- National Osteoporosis FoundationInformation promoting lifelong bone health.
- National Institute of Neurological Disorders and StrokeInformation about neuroscience disorders, including stroke and Parkinson’s disease.
- NIH SeniorHealthProvides basic health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.
- USA.gov Health for SeniorsU.S. Government’s official portal providing health information for seniors.
Substance Abuse
- D.A.R.E.Drug Abuse Resistence Education
- MedlinePlus: Drug AbuseProvides authoritative information collected by the National Library of Medicine on substance abuse.
- National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI)Information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- Partnership for a Drug-Free AmericaNonprofit coalition of communication, health, medical and educational professionals working to reduce illicit drug use and help people live healthy, drug-free lives.

Loading...
