Links to reliable databases and resources for health information, etc.
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2012
This guide provides some links to databases and resources discussed at the JABSOM Community Health Fair, January 6, 2012.
From the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Free comprehensive, authoritative database on disease conditions, staying well, drug information, interactive tutorials, surgery videos, etc.
- PubMed Health
Information on diseases, conditions, drugs, treatment options, and healthy living, with a special focus on comparative effectiveness research from institutions around the world.
- NIH SeniorNet
Website features basic health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.
Registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. Enrollment information for ongoing trials is included.
- National Cancer Institute
Excellent information on all aspects of cancer including prevention, treatment, and research from the National Cancer Institute.
- National Guidelines Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents developed by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Health topics A-Z from the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.
- Household Products Database
What's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling. Database from the National Library of Medicine.
Database from the National Library of Medicine. Information about environmental health concerns/toxic chemicals where you live, work, and play.
Links provided below to different services and resources from the Hawaii Public Library System. For database access your userid is your public library barcode number and your password is the last 4 digits of the phone number you gave them when you signed up for your card.
Virginia "Ginny" Tanji
Health Sciences Library
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii at Manoa
651 Ilalo Street
Honolulu HI, 96813-5534
PH: 808-692-0810Send Email