This is the "Home" page of the "Cancer Information Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cancer Information Resources  

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2012 URL: http://jabsom.hawaii.libguides.com/cancer Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

My Profile

Profile Image
Ginny
Contact Info
Health Sciences Library
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii at Manoa
651 Ilalo Street
Honolulu HI, 96813-5534
PH: 808-692-0823
Send Email
 

Aloha!

This guide provides some links to databases and resources discussed at the Cancer Navigator Workshop on 1/28/2011.

Best Cancer Resources

The top three national resources for cancer information.

  • National Cancer Institute
    Free reliable full-text information. Order free publications here. Free online chat link, etc.
  • American Cancer Society
    Lots of good information here on supportive care, preventive care, etc.
  • MedlinePlus.gov
    From the National Library of Medicine, one of the National Institues of Health. Just remember MedlinePlus.gov for reliable health information from text-based, to videos, etc. Click on Health Topics and then Cancer or search for your specific topic.

Other Databases from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health

  • Medlineplus for Mobile Phones
    Link for your mobile phone is m.medlineplus.gov
  • NIH SeniorNet
    Website features basic health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.

  • ClinicalTrials.gov
    Registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. Enrollment information for ongoing trials is included.
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse
    A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents developed by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
    Health topics A-Z from the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.
  • Household Products Database
    What's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling. Database from the National Library of Medicine.
  • ToxTown
    Database from the National Library of Medicine. Information about environmental health concerns/toxic chemicals where you live, work, and play.
  • National Cancer Institute
    Excellent information on all aspects of cancer including prevention, treatment, and research from the National Cancer Institute.

Local Resources

Links to other helpful local resources

Hawaii State Public Library System

Links provided below to different services and resources from the Hawaii Public Library System

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip